Best of 2016 Playlist

December 31, 2015

Thank You!

The year is closing, and we just want to take the time to say thanks! 

Top 10 Albums of 2015

There were so many great albums released this year, we had a tough time nailing down the 10 best. Please note, we're only counting full length albums, not EPs. Re-releases do not count either. So without further ado, here are our picks for the Top 10 Albums of 2015. Try not too get too butthurt. 

If you think an album should be included be sure to comment or email us at We can only listen to so many albums before our brains explode, so we're sorry if we've overlooked a worthy album. Click this (link) to see our Top 10 Songs of 2015. 

**Revised April 2016**

December 27, 2015

Picturesque - "Monstrous Things" EP Review

We didn't think it was possible for someone to have a voice higher than Kellin Quinn's, but then Picturesque goes and shatters the glass ceiling. In true record label battle fashion, Equal Vision has found their own Sleeping with Sirens in this new signee. Their EP "Monstrous Things" debuted on November 20. Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes.

(P.S we're sorry this is about a month and a half late. Better late than never?)

December 25, 2015

The 1975 - "UGH!" Single Review

Think the guys in The 1975 just beat Fall Out Boy for the weirdest song title ever. The second single off their upcoming sophomore album, "I like it when you sleep..." is everything fans love about the fan. Extravagant, full of synths, and has all kinds of 70s funk. Not too far from their usual electronic rock, but a definite switch from their first single, "Love Me", which relied heavily on 80s synth-pop. Click this (link) to buy the song on iTunes and or preorder the album, which we recommend you do. It's worth the $1.29

December 20, 2015

Top 10 Songs of 2015

The first of two "Best of 2015" posts, here we're ranking our picks for the best song. Anything single released in 2015 is fair game, even for albums that have yet to be released. Try not too get too butthurt. We've got quite a few honorable mentions, so if you don't see a song below make sure we haven't included it on that list. To view our honorable mentions, and other Top 10 lists, please go to our Top 10/Quick Picks page. 

If you still think a song should be included be sure to comment or email us at We can only listen to so many albums before our brains explode, so we're sorry if we've overlooked someone's favorite tune. Once posted, you'll be able to click this (link) to view our Top 10 Albums of 2015. 

**Revised April 2016**

December 15, 2015

Featured Post - SECRETS

This month's featured band released their 3rd album on Dec 11. And the title is very appropriate. SECRETS haven't had an easy road, and "Everything That Got Us Here" couldn't be a better testament to their abilities. They've lost members, had their fair share of road trouble, and are signed to Velocity/Rise Records, which by some standards is a headache all its own. To buy their album on iTunes click this (link). 

December 14, 2015

Tonight Alive - "Drive" Single Review

Another new song from Tonight Alive's upcoming album has graced our presence. The band will be releasing their 3rd album, "Limitless" this upcoming March, preceded and followed by a headlining world tour. This new song, "Drive", rides the wave of anticipation from "Human Interaction" and "To Be Free" (The latter of the two being, in our opinion, the superior). Click this (link) to preorder the album on iTunes, and or buy the song. See if you think this track is able to live up to the band's reputation, and its predecessors. 

December 13, 2015

SECRETS - "Everything That Got Us Here" Review

Possibly our last album review for the 2015 year! SECRETS will wrap up 2015 for us with their 3rd album "Everything That Got Us Here". The band has been slowly rising in popularity, and, to the delight of their record company, in sales. SECRETS signature blend of hardcore verses, memorable guitar riffs, and pop-influenced choruses doesn't sound like anything new. But their particular take on post hardcore has earned them a loyal fanbase. If you haven't already checked out this band, you're missing out. Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. And be sure to keep an eye out more SECRETS coverage in our "Featured Post". 

December 5, 2015

Most Disappointing Albums of 2015

2015 has come and gone. So many great albums, but on the same token, so many failures. We had big expectations for some of these bands, and they couldn't have missed the mark anymore. Well they probably could have but we shudder to think what could have been worse seeing as these were so bad. 

Before anyone gets too butthurt, let's try to keep an open mind. Understand, we aren't out to spread hate, we're just sharing our opinion. If you think an album should be included on this list, comment and let us know. Remember, we can only listen to so many albums in a year. Go to our Top 10 / Quick Picks page to see our honorable mentions. And be sure to stay tuned for our Top 10 Albums/Songs of 2015 later this month! 

December 4, 2015

ICE NINE KILLS - "Every Trick in the Book" Review

After a year of anticipation, the new album from everyone's favorite (and possibly only) Vonnegut inspired band is here! The 4th album, "Every Trick in the Book", from Boston based metalcore outlet ICE NINE KILLS has proven to be one of the most anticipated of the year. If there's an award for underdog album, they would win no doubt. They've taken everything they did in their previous album and amplified it to the max. The result is incredible! We couldn't be more happy for the band. To buy the album on iTunes click the (link).  
**Revised review**

November 29, 2015

Wage War - "Blueprints" Review

Fearless Records have been signing a lot of artists as of late. With new comers The White Noise, Oceans Ate Alaska, As It Is, I Prevail, My Enemies and I, and Movements they've certainly got a wide array of talent. The latest rookie debut is from Wage War, a metalcore outlet from Ocala, FL; a city known for producing metalcore legends Underoath and A Day to RememberThe band's debut, "Blueprints" is the best Black Friday purchase you could have made. This isn't an album for the faint of heart. It's nonstop modern metal goodness. Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. 

November 28, 2015

Top 10 Underrated Bands

Well since we did overrated bands, it's only right that we do underrated too right? On the other side of the coin, there are bands struggling to gain recognition in the vast field. And where some get success due to looks or media coverage, others fight for everything they have. Most, if not all, of these bands deserve more praise than they are awarded. They represent everything right with the music industry, and always put their best foot forward. 

As in our overrated bands post, we'll be stick with active bands, and excluding pop acts (i.e. Katy Perry, Lady Gaga) as we're working on those lists for another time. If you think we forgot a band, comment and let us know. We're sorry if we make anyone butthurt. Top 10s tend to do that to people. Click our Top 10 / Quicks Page to read more lists like this one, and to view our "
honorable mentions".  

Panic! at the Disco - "LA Devotee" Single Review

They're back. The latest single from Panic! at the Disco is here! Following "Victorious", "Death of a Bachelor", and "Emperor's New Clothes" this is arguably the best song of the bunch. All the hype for their new album is well deserved, as it's shaping up to be the best yet. Click this (link) to preorder the album on iTunes. 

November 24, 2015

Tonight Alive - "To Be Free" Single Review

An early Christmas present for fans, Tonight Alive just released the opening track for their new album "Limitless". Where "Human Interaction" failed to impress, their new single is a different story. Their highly anticipated 3rd album won't be out until March, so hopefully you'll be able to stand the wait. Until then, you can rock out to their new song, "To Be Free". Click this (link) to buy the song on iTunes.

November 21, 2015

Best of the Artist - Paramore

With infectious hooks, funky bass lines, and a front-woman with as much attitude and talent as vocalists twice her age and height, did you expect anything other than success for Paramore? Remember their humble beginnings on Warped Tour, and their rise to mainstream music stars? Paramore have been through a lot in the past ten years. And after a lot of rewrites, we've finally finished our "Top 10 Paramore Songs". It wasn't easy, but we did it. 

To see our honorable mentions please go to our Best of the Artist series page. And for those of you who don't see your favorite song on this list, or feel we should have given something a higher place, we're sorry. Leave a comment and let us know if we screwed up. And for those butthurt people, we recommend you get some ice and a comfortable pillow to sit on.

State Champs - "Around the World and Back" Review

We're sorry this took so long to post. But better late than never right? So without further ado, here's our very, very, VERY late review of State Champ's album "Around the World and Back". You can click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. 

November 17, 2015

The Amity Affliction - "Shine On" Single Review

The Amity Affliction spent their summer on promoting their first DVD "Seems Like Forever" on Warped 2015, and the fall touring with SECRETS, Chelsea Grin, The Plot in You and Cruel Hands. Next on their schedule is a tour with A Day to Remember, Motionless in White, and The Ghost Inside. But before that, they've surprised us by releasing new single, "Shine On". To buy it on iTunes click this (link).

November 11, 2015

SECRETS - "Rise Up" Single Review

The next single from SECRETS 3rd album is here! "Rise Up" follows "Left Behind", which was released about a month ago. The lead single reintroduced the band a second time to fans, having switched unclean vocalists during the recording process. The song featured a more mature, abet a Tyler Carter-esc clean vocal performance from Richard Rogers, and a powerful debut from new unclean vocalist Wade Walters, who is featured on bass for the "Rise Up" music video. To preorder the album on iTunes click this (link), and to read our review of the album's lead single click this (link). 

November 10, 2015

Get Scared - "Demons" Review

Halloween may have passed, but Get Scared would beg to differ with their new album. Their music takes a dive into metalcore, and then surfaces with a mouthful of intestines. Or something like that. Anyways, it's pretty damn good. Not just for the holidays (though we don't recommend you listen to this on the way to church Christmas day), but whenever you're looking for a little shock value. Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. **Sorry this one took us so long to post** To read our reviews of the album's two main singles "Buried Alive" and "Suffer" click the links provided. 

November 8, 2015

Quick Picks: Best Acoustic EPs

Isn't it funny how a change of instruments can make or break a song. A growing trend in bands is to release acoustic albums. Originating in the early 10s, now it's become the norm for bands who are between albums. Some albums or EPs tide fans over until the next big thing. Sometimes it works, and sometimes you should just stick to the dropped guitars and heavy bass beats. These are the ones that worked, for us at least. Click our Top 10/Quick Picks page for more lists like this. 

October 31, 2015

Top 10 Overrated Bands

!READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!, we're about to piss a lot of people off. There are millions of bands in the world, but very few able to achieve mainstream success. Some have cult followings, others have localized fame. Then some become worldwide phenomena. And there are a good number whose fame and recognition aren't earned through hard work. These are our picks for the most overrated bands.

We're sticking to bands who are active today, so no hiatus bands. We're excluding "pop stars" (i.e One Direction, Taylor Swift, etc) as that's another list entirely. If you think we forgot a band, comment and let us know. We're sorry if we make anyone butthurt. Top 10s tend to do that to people. Click our Top 10 / Quicks Page to read more lists like this one. 

A Skylit Drive - "ASD" Review

The often overlooked group from Lodi, California, A Skylit Drive, have released their 5th album. Touring stints with bands like Sleeping with Sirens, Memphis May Fire, and multiple trips on Warped Tour have given them a respectable fanbase. But they've never been able to achieve the success of their peers. Their latest album, "ASD" (a self titled album), comes after yet another lineup change. So how does the album shape up? Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. 

October 30, 2015

Speed Reads - Seaway, 5 Seconds of Summer, and SayWeCanFly

Speed Reads is back with another set of quick reviews! We've got pop punk albums from Seaway and 5 Seconds of Summer (don't try to deny it, they are a pop punk band), plus the latest EP from SayWeCanFly. If you have a suggestion for a future Speed Read entry, please let us know. To read our previous "Speed Read" post, click this (link). And to buy each respective album please click the links below! 

Tonight Alive - "Human Interaction" Single Review

Fans of Tonight Alive have been patiently waiting for the 1st single of their highly anticipated 3rd album. Well it's finally here! "Human Interaction" was released on the band's Vevo account on Oct 30, and that's not the only good news for fans. The band also announced a headlining world tour with Set It Off in early 2015 to support their new album titled "Limitless", and gave a March 4, 2016 release date. Click this (link) to preorder the album on iTunes. 

October 25, 2015

The 1975 - "Love Me" Single Review

Our favorite English indie boys have returned with the first single off their highly anticipated sophomore album, "I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It" (oh god that's a mouthful). They seemed to become an overnight sensation with "Chocolate", and later "Sex" and "Girls". The lead single for their 2nd album, "Love Me", made its debut on BBC radio with Annie Mac. Sorry this review took so long, but better late than never. Click this (link) to buy the song on iTunes, and don't forget to preorder their album. 

Panic! at the Disco - "Emperor's New Clothes" Single Review

Hot damn they've done it again! Panic! at the Disco is back with the next single of their album, "Death of a Bachelor", which now has a January 15, 2015 release date. If you haven't already seen the music video, we recommend you stop whatever it is you're doing (reading this post no doubt) and go give them a listen/look. The band have finally found a common ground in their sound, and it's the best thing since their debut album. Click this (link) to pre-order the album on iTunes. 

October 24, 2015

ICE NINE KILLS - "Communion of the Cursed" Single Review

Halloween is a week away, and ICE NINE KILLS have delivered the best treat in the form of their new single "Communion of the Cursed". Accompanied by a music video that pays homage to one of the best horror movies ever, the song's already creepy atmosphere is enhanced ten fold. It's sure to give your spine a few chills. Don't forget to pre-order their upcoming album "Every Trick in the Book", and go get previous single "Bloodbath & Beyond" by clicking this (link). 

October 20, 2015

Best of the Artist - Pierce the Veil

With their highly anticipated 4th album just around the corner, we thought it would be appropriate to countdown Pierce the Veil’s best songs. Keep in mind, everyone has their own opinion. If you think we missed a song, please comment below. If we make anyone butthurt, we’re sorry. To see some other Top 10s, go to out Top 10/Quick Picks page. 

October 19, 2015

Featured Post - New Years Day

Though the picture featured above would say otherwise, this band is the love child of My Chemical Romance, Paramore, and Tim Burton. Since it's October, and Halloween is approaching we HAD to feature New Years Day as our band of the month. They're all but Halloween personified. Along with fellow goth rockers Motionless in White and Get Scared, they always bring a certain level of horror to their music and live shows. But they have frontwoman Ashley "Ash" Costello, and that gives them a little something extra.

Read our review of their latest album, "Malevolence". Or check out our reviews of singles "Kill or Be Killed", "Relentless", and "Left Inside"

October 16, 2015

SECRETS - "Left Behind" Single Review

SECRETS lost original frontman Xander Bourgeois in 2013, and this October they announced that Aaron Melzer would be exiting the band after a 2 year stint. To the surprise of fans, SECRETS also announced that they had finished their 3rd album, but it was recorded with new frontman Wade Walters (I almost shit my pants because I thought his name was Wade Wilson and that would have been too much for me to handle). 

Set for a December 11 release date, we eagerly await the new album from this band. Though they have gone through many lineup changes, SECRETS have gotten better with time ("Fragile Figures" being on of the best modern post hardcore albums we've had the pleasure of listening to) To preorder their album on iTunes click this (link).

October 10, 2015

Best of the Artist - Green Day

They're responsible for the 90s sudden interest in punk rock, and (along with blink-182) for the wave of pop punk bands that would come in the 00s. Hard to believe "Insomniac" is 20 years old isn't it? So in honor the the album's 20th birthday, we've made Green Day our next entry in our "Best of the Artist" series. We've tried to keep everything short and sweet, much like their songs, but more so we don't end up with a long ass post. To see other lists in this series go to our Top 10/Quick Picks page.

Speed Reads - Mayday Parade, blessthefall and Parkway Drive

The first in a new series of quick reviews. This inaugural post features reviews of the latest albums from Mayday Parade, blessthefall, and Parkway Drive. To buy their respective albums on iTunes please click the links below. If you enjoyed this post, let us know and we'll do more quick reviews like this! We plan on writing more in depth reviews of the albums sometime in the future, but for now we're content with these.

October 7, 2015

Hands Like Houses - "New Romantics" Single Review

After premiering the song while on Warped Tour 2015, Hands Like Houses have finally released the second single from their upcoming album, "Dissonants". Though the band hasn't revealed the album's release date, it will be released sometime in 2015. So we have roughly about 3 months left in the year, which means the album is coming very, very soon! You can click this (link) to buy this song on iTunes. And don't forget to catch them on tour later this month with I the Mighty, Lower Than Atlantis and more!

October 4, 2015

Get Scared - "Suffer" Single Review

"31 Days of Get Scared" entered Day 2 on this past Friday, and with it came the next single off the band's upcoming 3rd album,"Demons". Continuing their descent into the dark recesses that most of us avoid, "Suffer"  The band will be on the Other Side Tour later this month, so definitely check them out! You won't be disappointed. Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. 

October 2, 2015

New Years Day - "Malevolence" Review

After months of patient waiting, it's finally here! New Years Day's much anticipated 3rd album, "Malevolence". After releasing a string of singles this summer, October brings us the full length effort from our gothic rock band. To read our reviews of songs "Kill or Be Killed", "Relentless" and "Left Inside" click the links. And you can click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. 

September 29, 2015

Panic! at the Disco - "Victorious" Single Review

We were less than thrilled with Panic! at the Disco's previous single, "Death of a Bachelor" earlier this month. But less than 30 days later and the band has returned with this new single. Impressive, full of spunk, and has Panic! written all over it. This is the right way to get people psyched for a new album. Click this (link) to buy the track on iTunes. 

September 26, 2015

Best of the Artist - Bring Me The Horizon

Part of our "Best of the Artist" series, in this installment we countdown our picks for Bring Me The Horizon's best songs. In all honestly we could have just done a top 10 for their album "Sempiternal" (maybe we will in the future), but we decided to diversify and rank songs from all of their albums. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, so we're sorry if this list doesn't pan out as you might have hoped. Feel free to leave comments, butthurt or otherwise. Go to our Top 10 page to see our honorable mentions. 

September 25, 2015

ICE NINE KILLS - "Bloodbath & Beyond" Single Review

Our boys in ICE NINE KILLS are back with a brand new single! Just signed to Fearless Records, they announced their new album "Every Trick in the Book" would be released December 4th! The first single since February's "Me, Myself, and Hyde", showcases the band's prowess as they continue the metalcore sound they polished in "The Predator Becomes the Prey". Click this (link) to buy their new song on iTunes. 

September 22, 2015

The Wonder Years - "No Closer to Heaven" Review

Hopeless Records has had a slew of pop punk hits so far this year with All Time Low, Neck Deep, and ROAM. They can add The Wonder Years to that list. Their 5th album was already shaping up to be one of their best yet, then they went and blew minds. Different from their previous releases, but in the best ways possible. TWY take a new tack at pop punk in this album, and score big! Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. 

September 16, 2015

New Years Day - "Left Inside" Single Review

New Years Day, one of our "Bands to Watch in 2015" have slowly been climbing to the top of the hard rock world. Their dark, sometimes theatric music and performances have captured the hearts of fans everywhere. So with less than a month until their album's release, the band have debuted another new song. New Years Day's album, "Malevolence" is set to be released October 2. Click the links to buy the albums on iTunes.  

Single Shots - blessthefall Review


blessthefall have just released the 3rd single from their upcoming 5th album, and boy oh boy is it shaping up to be a memorable one. In preparation for their album, we've done a sort of compilation review to cover the 3 songs released thus far. blessthefall's new album, "To Those Left Behind", will be released this Friday, and we're anxious to see how it as a whole turns out. 

September 13, 2015

Featured Post - Neck Deep

September's band is... Neck Deep! Having just released their sophomore album last month, we're eager to jump into this post. Feel free to join the conversation in the comments section. And if you have suggestions for future featured posts, reviews and bands please let us know. 

 To read our full review of "Life's Not Out to Get You" click this (link). 

Top 10 Fangirl Frontmen / Bands

Some bands spend months writing albums and touring. Then there are bands that can so much as sneeze and sell out stadiums. Today, we're counting down our picks for bands whose careers have largely been built upon fangirls. The bands featured here are not necessarily bad, we'll let you be the judge of that. And fangirls aren't necessarily bad either, but they can be very influential on a band's success, without knowing the first thing about quality or substance. Click this (link) for more top 10 lists. 

If you think we missed a band, or want to get butthurt then feel free to leave a comment! Or contact us at, whatever works. Again, bring on the butthurt! 

September 12, 2015

Quick Picks: A Little Less Weird, A Little More Fall Out Boy (Weirdest Fall Out Boy Songs)

Some bands are known for their creative lyrics, or inventive sounds. Others are known for their odd song titles. Fall Out Boy are the reigning kings of weird title choices. What would a FOB album be without a ridiculously long song title? Hopefully if you're a fan, you understood this posts title reference (If you didn't then it sucks to be you) Click this (link) to see our honorable mentions (there are quite a few). 

Now the lyrical content isn't, per say, weird, but a casual observer would do a double take at some of these song titles. We're not saying these songs are bad in any way, just that their writers made some weird decisions when deciding what to call them. If you think we missed a song, comment. Keep in mind we had to get picky, since we only have so much space. 

September 11, 2015

Best of the Artist - All Time Low

Everyone's favorite Baltimore boys are next up in our "Best of the Artist" series. We already covered their pop punk predecessors blink-182 in this Top 10 countdown series (link), so now it's All Time Low's turn. If we make anyone butthurt, sorry. If you think we forgot a song be sure to check out our honorable mentions on our Best of the Artist page.   

September 10, 2015

Bring Me The Horizon - "That's the Spirit" Review

One of the most anticipated albums of 2015, Bring Me The Horizon released their 5th album on September 11. Fans everywhere were anticipating this album, unsure of what to expect. With one promotional single, and then lead single "Throne" kicking off the band's next era, we were introduced to a new side of BMTH. A more radio friendly version yes, but also a band who knew what they wanted to do (or thought they did) and created their ideal album. You can click these links to read our reviews of singles, "Happy Song", "Throne", and "True Friends". 

September 7, 2015

New Politics - "Vikings" Review

Dance pop and electronic meets punk, that's New Politics in a nutshell. Previous albums from this Danish band were, well, incomplete. But their 3rd album is, for the most part, a cohesive collection of fun songs. Signing to DCD2 Records, Pete Wentz's label, has done the band a world of good. Wentz infuses some emo into the band's sound, and the band themselves have come into their own as song writers. 

Panic at the Disco "Death of a Bachelor" - Single Review

Off their upcoming 5th album, Panic! are back with another song. Branching out even further, this band loves to keep fans guessing. And they do a damn good job of it with this new single, "Death of a Bachelor". Different from anything else they've released, it marks another shift in the band's overall sound and style. Is it a step forward or a step back, that's for you to say. Click this (link) to buy their first single "Hallelujah" on iTunes.  

September 5, 2015

Get Scared - "Buried Alive" Single Review

The male equivalent to fellow goth rockers New Years Day have just released a new single! And announced that their new album, "Demons" will be released Oct. 30th, the day before Halloween! Ironically enough, Get Scared will be touring with NYD, Eyes Set to Kill and New Volume this fall. To get tickets click this (link), and to preorder the album click this (link). Halloween just got a whole lot better!

Knuckle Puck - "Copacetic" Review

Knuckle Puck's debut record "Copacetic" is the epitome of pop punk. If you didn't already know what genre the band is, the album title should have given you an inclining. An up-in-coming band that has its origins in Chicago circa 2010, these fellows have kicked things off with a strong debut. After completing a run on Warped Tour 2015, the band have found themselves with a growing fanbase, and a surprisingly successful debut. Click this (link) to buy their album on iTunes.