Best of 2016 Playlist

December 31, 2016

Quick Picks: Best Songs of 2016

The best songs, from some of the best artists, from some of the best albums. Please keep in mind, we can only listen to so many songs before our heads explode. We also shy away from "mainstream" songs, so don't expect to see things from Beyonce or the like. 

If you think we missed a song, be sure to check our honorable mentions. Leave a commend to tell us what songs you loved the most this year. To see our other Top 10s of 2016 click this (link). 

Top 10 Albums of 2016

It's always hard to nail down the best albums of the year. They're so many to consider. The list may change in the future, and we'll put a notice on the post if it does. Anyway, here are our picks for the Top 10 Albums of 2016. To read the companion post, "Top 10 Songs of 2016" click the link. 

Please keep in mind, we can only listen to so many albums. If you think we missed one, leave a comment and tell us why you think it deserves to be on the list. Also, check out Honorable Mentions list. We only consider full length albums for this list, not EPs. 

To see our "Top 10 Songs of 2016" click the following (link). And remember, we try to shy away from "mainstream" acts, so don't expect to see Queen B, David Bowie, and the like here. 

December 22, 2016

Memphis May Fire - "This Light I Hold" Review

Memphis May Fire's new album rocks, that's all that needs to be said to describe it. Pulling out new tricks, as well as some old ones to deliver an album that will go definitely appear on a few best of the year lists. 

Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. And be sure to catch the band on tour with The Devil Wears Prada this fall. 

**This was supposed to be posted on November 7**

November 5, 2016

Our Last Night - "Common Ground" Single Review

Taking a little bit of old, but more of the new, Our Last Night continue their progress from misunderstood metalheads to a slick, mature alt-rock group. Their newest single, "Common Ground" was released just in time for their tour with Hands Like Houses, The Color Morale, and Out Came the Wolves

To buy this single on iTunes click this (link). And don't forget to catch them on the "Face to Face" Tour later this month.

Youth in Revolt - "The Broken" Single Review

From the falsetto of the frontman, to the well timed screams and subtle (or not so subtle in some instances) breakdowns, Youth in Revolt definitely prove they have staying power. The proof? This single. Could we be looking at the new Sleeping with Sirens, don't rule it out Youth in Revolt might just be. 

To preorder their album,"The Broken", and get the titular single, click the following (link).

October 29, 2016

I Prevail - "Lifelines" Review

It's tough being caught in the shadow of a cover. Especially a Taylor Swift cover. But I Prevail have worked long and hard to make a name for themselves outside the realm of "cover band". Though it's safe to say that cover is always going to be looming over them as their big break.

To buy the band's album on iTunes please click this (link).

October 23, 2016

Dance Gavin Dance - "Mothership " Review

Unconventional is the best way to describe this band. Dance Gavin Dance added their names to the list of bands who owned 2016. The end of the summer saw a string of singles, and now it's time for the main event. Let's dive into their 7th album, and see what the band has to offer this time around. 

To buy the album on iTunes click the following (link).

October 21, 2016

Featured Band - Too Close To Touch

Too Close To Touch are rising higher and higher with every passing second. Their debut album seemed to be their peak, but it was just the beginning. We're pleased to feature them as our "Band of the Month". You can be sure to expect to see them featured in the near future, as no amount of words can do them justice.
Click this link to read our review of the band's latest album, "Haven't Been Myself". 

October 7, 2016

We Came as Romans - "Wasted Age" Single Review

SharpTone Records brought back the heavy We Came as Romans everyone has been asking for since their last album. Thank the rock gods! The future looks bright as they balance their alt. rock and electronic with their classic metalcore. 

To buy the new single on iTunes click the following (link). 

September 28, 2016

Too Close To Touch - "Haven't Been Myself" Review

If you only listen to one album this year, make it this album. Too Close To Touch knock this out of the park, and then some. Should NASA do another one of those "send Earth shit into space for some alien race to find" let's make sure this album is on that capsule. Words can't express how incredible this album is. TCTT set the bar high for themselves on album one, and on album two they surpass it with plenty of leeway. 

Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. And catch them on tour this fall with Crown the Empire. 

September 27, 2016

Featured Post - A Day to Remember

One of the pioneer's of "easycore" A Day to Remember released their 6th album, "Bad Vibrations" earlier this month. The band are in top form, and have given listeners  a strong reminder why they're a headlining act. 

Click this (link) to read our review of the band's latest album, "Bad Vibrations". To get their album on iTunes click this (link). 

September 4, 2016

A Day to Remember - "Bad Vibrations" Review

A Day to Remember's new album is finally here! Ready? Well then get ready. This album delivers on the band's promise to make this their heaviest in years. They're heading back to their humble beginnings, and cranking out that familiar gritty, grimy punk rock we all knew back in 2005. 

Click this (link) to buy "Bad Vibrations" on iTunes

September 2, 2016

All Time Low - "Take Cover" Single Review

Any self-respecting All Time Low fan knows the band will be releasing their second DVD, the much anticipated sequel to 2010's "Straight to DVD" next week. Well surprise, they also hit fans with a new track off their upcoming live CD. A fully polished and produced single that gears the band toward their next album. 

To preorder "Straight to DVD 2: Past, Present and Future Hearts" click this (link).

August 30, 2016

Sum 41 - "War" Single Review

The hype just keeps growing as we get closer and closer to the release date of Sum 41's comeback album. The band already proved they can hold their own against contemporary bands, now let's see if they can hold our attention with their newest single, "War". 

To preorder the album, and instantly get singles, "Fake My Own Death" and "War" click the following (link). 

August 29, 2016

The Color Morale - "Desolate Divine" Review

The Color Morale's newest album is here! After a slew of singles, the complete album was released August 19th. After another successful stint on Warped Tour this summer, things couldn't look better for the band. The question remains: have the band grown in the two years since their last album? Or was "Know Hope" their peak point?

Click this (link) to buy the album on iTunes. And don't forget to catch the band this fall with Our Last Night, Hands Like Houses and Out Came the Wolves on the "Face to Face Tour". Click this (link) to see the tour dates and buy tickets. 

Too Close To Touch - "Crooked Smile" Single Review

A song that only adds more reason to love this band. Too Close To Touch are a rising power in alt. rock, and rightly so. The second single off the band's highly anticipated second album, "Haven't Been Myself", proves the band didn't just luck out with their debut last March. 

To buy the album and get this track, as well as first single "What I Wish I Could Forget" on iTunes please click this (link). 

Memphis May Fire - "Carry On" Single Review

Memphis May Fire have spent the past year working on their 5th album. The first single, "Carry On", follows the standard set by last year's "My Generation" and "Stay the Course". The band are maturing into a class act, and we look forward to hearing the full album. "This Light I Hold" is set to be released October 28. 

To preoder the album on iTunes click this (link).

August 24, 2016

You Me at Six - "Night People" Single Review

Oh ya you heard right, You Me at Six are back! Their new album is coming for you this January, and the first single is out of this world. The title track off their 5th studio album, "Night People", was released almost 3 years after previous record "Cavalier Youth". Needless to say, it pretty much blows everything else YMAS has done out of the water. 

To preorder the album, and get this single on iTunes please click the following (link). 

August 22, 2016

Anarbor - "Self Titled" Review

The band have always flown under the radar. And in 2015 it seemed they were at the edge of a breakup. But they surprised everyone by announcing earlier this year that they'd be releasing a new record. Their follow up to 2013's "Burnout", Anarbor's self titled 3rd effort pulls everything right about the band into one near perfect album. 

*Sorry this one took so long to post. We got caught up in the summer rush

To buy the album on iTunes click the following (link).

August 20, 2016

Featured Band - The Amity Affliction

One of Australia's best post hardcore/metalcore acts, The Amity Affliction have garnered a large worldwide fanbase. From the UK to the US, Canada and Europe, this is one band almost universally liked. Not just for their uplifting music but because the guys are very down-to-earth and genuine.

Click this (link) to buy their 5th album, "This Could Be Heartbreak" on iTunes. And click the following (link) to read our review!

Green Day - "Bang Bang" Single Review

Wait, Green Day's releasing a new album this year too? Wow, talk about the year of pop punk comebacks. Green Day's 12th, yes 12th can you believe it, is set for an October 7 release date. The album's first single, "Bang Bang" was released August 11 

To preorder their upcoming album, "Revolution Radio" and instantly get this single on iTunes click the following (link).

August 15, 2016

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! - "Blame It On The Song" Single Review

Summer may be coming to a close, but Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! have delivered one last summer song. Appropriately titled "Blame It On The Song", and released at the end of their stint on Warped 2016, it's a perfect end of summer song, pop punk with a modern twist. 

To buy the song on iTunes click the following (link)

The Amity Affliction - "This Could Be Heartbreak" Review

The Amity Affliction delivers an extremely experimental album, that is sure to divide fans on the new sound. Not ones to completely desert old fans, they don't shut themselves to a new audience either. TAA offer something new that will go down as one of the most memorable releases of the year. For better or worse, that's up to the listener. 

To buy their album on iTunes click the following (link). 

July 22, 2016

Too Close To Touch - "What I Wish I Could Forget" Single Review

Currently taking the U.S by storm on Warped Tour, Too Close To Touch announced their sophomore album, "Haven't Been Myself" this past Monday. Along with it they debuted the music video for the record's lead single, "What I Wish I Could Forget".

To preorder the album on iTunes click the following (link), and be sure to catch the band on Warped Tour this summer!

July 20, 2016

Featured Band - blink-182

Seemed stupid not to have these guys for July's Featured Band. They've OWNED this month for 20+ years. blink-182 just released their 7th studio album, their first since the departure of Tom Delonge and the entrance of Matt Skiba. 

To buy "California" on iTunes click the following (link). And if you're a self respecting pop punk fan, you won't want to miss out on blink-182, A Day to Remember and All Time Low on tour together this summer. 

July 8, 2016

Set It Off - "Something New" Single Review

The weird music video aside, the band have delivered another catchy track for the summer crowds. Set It Off flew under the radar for so long, but now they've broken out with their brand of theatrical pop punk/pop rock. After releasing single "Uncontainable" back in March, they've returned with second single off their upcoming 3rd album, "Upside Down". 

To preorder the band's album on iTunes, click this (link). And be sure to catch them on Warped Tour this summer. 

July 4, 2016

Sum 41 - "Fake My Own Death" Single Review

Sum 41 are back! They'll be busy this summer on Warped Tour 2016. And then this fall their comeback album, "13 Voices" drops! Lead single, "Fake My Own Death" is a throwback to the band's 2002-2004 sound. Intense, angry punk rock. 

To preoder the album click this (link). And of course, you should check the band out on Warped Tour this summer. 

July 3, 2016

blink-182 - "California" Review

After 5 long years, and a bitter split with Tom Delonge, blink-182's new album is finally here! Break out the board shorts, wife beaters and pepperoni pizza, it's time to relive some middle school memories. 

Click the (link) to buy the album on iTunes. And click any of the links below to read our reviews of singles, "Bored to Death", "Rabbit Hole", and "No Future".

July 1, 2016

letlive - "If I'm the Devil..." Review

It's been almost a month since letlive's latest album was released. Why didn't we bother to post the review sooner? Would it be ridiculous to say we were too busy enjoying the album? Because we were. It's bound to be on "Best of 2016" lists come December. 

To buy the album on iTunes please click the following (link). And click either of these links to read our reviews of singles, "Good Mourning America" or "Reluctantly Dead"

Of Mice and Men - "Pain" Single Review

A song whose title says it all. Of Mice and Men have been hard at work with this album for some time now. Following frontman Austin Carlile's heart surgery, they've been in the studio crafting their upcoming 4th album, "Cold World". The new release is set for a September 9, 2016 release date. In the meantime, the band have gifted fans with the lead single, "Pain". 

To buy this single and preorder the album on iTunes, click this (link). And be sure to catch the band on tour with Slipknot and Marilyn Manson this summer, and in the UK this September. 

June 27, 2016

blink-182 - "No Future" Single Review

It's almost time! blink-182's new album, "California" is almost upon us. Getting goose bumps? You should be. And a little more than a week out, the band surprised everyone by dropping the 3rd official single, "No Future".

Click the following (link) to buy the song on iTunes, and or preorder the album. 

And be sure to catch the band on tour from July to October with Simple Plan, A Day To Remember, All Time Low, and The All American Rejects. With a lineup like that, you know you're in for a whirlwind of pop punk goodness.

June 25, 2016

The Color Morale - "Walls" Single Review

A day before Warped Tour kicks off in Texas, The Color Morale have treated fans to the first single off their upcoming 5th album, "Desolate Divine". This will be the band's second album on Fearless Records, their previous, "Hold on Pain Ends" came a little over a year after their much loved 3rd album, "Know Hope". 

Click this (link) to get the single, and preorder the album on iTunes. And be sure to catch them on Warped Tour this summer!

June 24, 2016

Anarbor - "Freaking Out" Single Review

After a brief hiatus, Anarbor have returned. Their upcoming "Self-Titled" album is set for a July 29th release date! This comes after months of teasing new music. The album's lead single, "Freaking Out" dropped on June 20, almost a month before the album. 

June 23, 2016

Featured Band - Architects

Architects' 7th album, "All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us" was released on the 27th. The record's preceding singles definitely led us to believe this is going to be the band's best album. Which is saying something after 2014's "Lost Forever//Lost Together" flew past expectations. 

To get their album on iTunes, click this (link). And to read our reviews of singles "A Match Made in Heaven", "Gone With the Wind" click the respective links. And to read out full album review please click this (link). 

June 18, 2016

twenty øne piløts - "Heathens" Single Review

What's better than a new song from twenty øne piløts? Using it in the highly anticipated "Suicide Squad" movie? Ya, that's pretty awesome. 

After the band released their first post-"Blurryface", DC announced the full track-listing for the film's soundtrack. And it's looking to be an interesting mix-mash of alt. rock, electronic rock, and rap. 

To buy the single on iTunes, and preorder the album click this (link).

June 11, 2016

blink-182 - "Rabbit Hole" Single Review

Last year was the year for modern pop punk, well this is the year for comeback pop punk. Simple Plan, Good Charolette, and, of course, blink-182. Now we're less than a month out from their new album, and we're more excited than ever. Hype couldn't be higher, especially since the release of the record's 2nd official single, "Rabbit Hole". 

To preorder their album click this (link). And don't miss out on their upcoming tour with A Day to Remember and All Time Low

June 10, 2016

Beartooth - "Aggressive" Review

Beartooth's new album, "Aggressive" hit stores last Friday! The band have preceded the album with several singles, each better than the last. Having had a week to enjoy this album, we're ready to tell those who haven't heard the album what to look forward to. A lot, you have a lot to look forward to. 

To buy the album on iTunes click this (link). And be sure to catch them on tour this summer in the UK, Australia, and Japan supporting their new album.

June 6, 2016

Speed Reads: Real Friends, Against the Current & Survive This!

New edition of "Speed Reads"! Concise, quick reviews for those who don't want to bother with full length reviews. In this entry, we're looking at the latest albums from Real Friends, Against the Current, and Survive This!

To read the previous entry in our "Speed Reads" series click this (link). To buy any of the featured album, click the links below. 

*We may do full length reviews in the future, but for now we've just got these. 

June 5, 2016

A Day To Remember - "Bad Vibrations" Single Review

They said no new album this year. What dirty liars. A Day To Remember surprised everyone by announcing they would be releasing their 6th full length effort, "Bad Vibrations" this September. That plus a tour with blink-182? We couldn't really ask for more. 

To preorder their album on iTunes click this (link). And, of course, don't forget to catch them on tour this summer. It's bound to be a great show.

June 4, 2016

Quick Picks: Guilty Pleasure Artists

You'd never publicly admit you're into these artists. Whether it be because it's not "cool" to like them, or it's just completely out of your comfort zone, you have secretly been streaming these bands for years. Thank god for "incognito" right?

We're not saying these artists are bad in any way, nor are we saying it's bad to like them. But we totally get why people aren't jumping at the gun to reveal they're fans. 
To see more lists like this go to our Top 10 page, or our Quick Picks page. If you'd like to suggest a future list, please comment.

1 Year Anniversary!

June 1, 2016

SECRETS - "Waste Away" Single Review

Surprise! A month before SECRETS are set to hit the road for Warped Tour 2016, they release this unbelievable new track. That's right, only 6 months after the release of their 3rd album, "Everything That Got Us Here" SECRETS have surprised us all with this new track.

To buy the single on iTunes please click this (link). And of course make sure you catch them on Warped Tour this summer.

May 29, 2016

Architects - "All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us" Review

It's hard to believe Architects are already on album #7. Seems like only yesterday we were excited for "Hollow Crown". And this new album delivers big on the band's reputation. If you're looking for a 45 minute onslaught of metalcore perfection, then here it is. "All Out Gods Have Abandoned Us" are Architects in top form. 

Fair warning, review is pretty long. To buy the album on iTunes please click the following (link). 

May 28, 2016

The Amity Affliction - "I Bring The Weather with Me" Single Review

The Amity Affliction are back for 2016! Their 5th studio album, "This Could Be Heartbreak" is set for an August 12 release date. Following "Let The Ocean Take Me", TAA continue the less aggressive rock sound they started with "Shine On". Their upcoming record's lead single, "I Bring The Weather with Me" is definitely a surprise for fans of their heavier work. 

To preorder the album on iTunes, and instantly get the album's first single, click this (link).

May 24, 2016

Issues - "Headspace" Review

A "new" take on "nu metal" (pardon the pun), Issues have fine tuned their sound, and are on their way to a mainstream crossover (at least we're guessing that's what they're aiming to do). This album isn't for metalheads, nor is it for rap-aficionados. It's for anyone willing to look past genre boundaries and try something new. 

Fair warning, this review is pretty long. The album is 13 tracks long, so there's a lot of ground to cover. 

Click this (link) to buy "Headspace" on iTunes. And don't forget to catch the band on Warped Tour this summer. 

May 20, 2016

letlive. - "Reluctantly Dead" Single Review

The second single off letlive's upcoming 4th album, "If I'm the Devil...". The band slows things down a bit in terms of sound, but their lyrics say otherwise. You'll be pumping your fists in the air in no time. This is the most anthemic letlive. song yet, and we're loving every second of "Reluctantly Dead". 

To preorder the album on iTunes click this (link).

Saosin - "Along The Shadow" Review

Fans have been patiently waiting for Saosin's 3rd album, and the return of original vocalist Anthony Green. Well, the album's here, and suffice to say, the wait was worth it.

To buy "Along the Shadow" on iTunes click the following (link). 

May 17, 2016

Pierce the Veil - "Misadventures" Review

It's finally here! The long awaited 4th album from San Diego natives, Pierce the Veil! We "held on till may", and now can finally sit back and enjoy all that is "Misadventures". 

This is our first track-by-track review. Can't guarantee more reviews like this in the future, but if you enjoyed this format let us know! To buy the album on iTunes click this (link). 

Featured Band - twenty øne piløts

And this month's Featured Band is... twenty øne piløtsIt's been exactly one year since their album, "Blurryface" hit stores. And the band's success seems to grow with each passing week. The album's third single, "Stressed Out" has since become a crossover hit on mainstream charts. Can TØP be stopped? Nope. 

To see last month's featured band click this (link). And to purchase TØP's latest album, "Blurryface" on iTunes click this (link). 

May 13, 2016

Modern Baseball - "Holy Ghost" Review

Small time band with some big ideas. Make this one of your must listen to albums of the year. It's insightful, introspective, and completely unexpected. Modern Baseball's 3rd album will tug at heart strings, and at the same time, get you bouncing in your seat. "Holy Ghost" is sure to be an instant classic. So don't miss out. 

To buy the album on iTunes, click this (link).